#2 Crockpot Mac and Cheese

Ingredients

  • 8 oz Macaroni noodles prepared
  • 16 oz Colby Jack cheese cubed
  • 8 oz Velveeta cubes
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 1 cup (8 oz) milk

Optional

  • 1/2 cup bacon pieces (because…BACON!)

* The original recipe had all of the ingredients doubled- It made WAY too much for us. If you want to make more (there are only 2 of us remember) go ahead and double the recipe I have written out.

 

I bought the Colby Jack already cubed- that was stupid. Get a brick and cut it up yourself. It’s a whole lot cheaper and not much more work.

Way too much!

Way too much for just us.

 

Prepare the noodles as normal. Put all the ingredients in the crockpot. I split up the cheese and butter into 3. I put a layer (use the term layer loosely) in the crockpot followed by half the noodles then another cheese/butter layer  and all the bacon pieces then the rest of the noddles and topped with the rest of the cheese/butter.

I put the lid on and left is cooking on LOW for about an hour then stirred it for the first time.

DSCF0012

 

The original recipe said to let it cook for 4 hours but it was ready in less than 2 and that was with twice as many ingredients as I have listed here. I’d think this one would be ready in an hour.

 

OMG!

OMG!

By far I’d say this was the best mac n cheese I’ve ever had and personally I think the bacon is what put it over the top! It’s a good thing I like it so much because I’ll be eating the leftover for awhile (happily!) It was also really fast and easy to put together. It was nice and creamy and made the whole house smell amazing!

The original recipe can be found here.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

