#7 Open-faced Tuna Melt

Ingredients

  • 2 cans chunk light tuna in water
  • mayo
  • mustard
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • buns

DSCF0040

I love me some tuna salad and tuna melts. I make something a little similar to this we call Bumstead Sandwiches the problem is the bun gets hard and with every bite the filling squishes out the sides- I hate that!

I saw this and liked the idea. I almost never use the broiler and was hoping to find a few recipes to utilize it more.

Drain tuna, with a fork mix in mayo, (I also like to add mustard to mine).

Feel free to add whatever you like in your tuna (celery, grapes, etc)

 

*Normally, I would add chopped up hard boiled eggs but I didn’t have any prepared. I love this addition so, consider it.

 

Add the cheese to the mixture. I saved a little to add on top also.

Spoon mixture on to open-faced buns.

 

 

DSCF0041

 

Broil for a few minutes until cheese is nice and melted.

DSCF0045

I really loved this even better than the Bumstead Sandwiches I grew up on because I thought they were easier to eat (I did miss the hard boiled egg so I’ll be sure to include it next time.)

Dan on the other hand took two sides and put them together to make a sandwich. (It takes all kinds, I guess)

We didn’t let it broil long enough, but that’s an easy fix. Our Bumstead sandwiches cook for about 25 minutes so this is much faster!

 

The original recipe can be found here.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

