#12 Caramel Apple Bites

 

Ingredients

  • Extra-large apples
  • Caramels + 2 Tbsp milk
  • Lollipop sticks
  • A metal Tbsp coffee scoop- melon baller
  • Wax paper & plates or a cookie sheet

DSCF0107

Peel apples- mine were smaller than they should have been which caused problems later

DSCF0108Use a melon baller or a metal measuring spoon- whatever you have on hand to scoop out apple balls (I used a cookie scoop)

DSCF0109

Put balls on wax paper and add sucker sticks

DSCF0110

Carefully warm caramels and milk, stirring constantly

DSCF0111

Now for the dipping. Here is were I had an issue. I let the caramel cool for five minutes before covering my first set of apple balls. The caramel slide right off. The I waited another 5 minutes and then another. By that time it had been 15 minutes and the caramel was barely pliable; yet sadly it continued to slide off.

DSCF0117

 

Pretty much this didn’t work out at all. I did find another caramel/apple recipe I’ll be trying later; maybe I’ll have more luck.

 

The original recipe can be found here.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

