The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

There were parts of the book that were actually difficult for me to read because of how they personally hit me.

I am much like David. I rely greatly on books as an escape and always have. I lost both of my parents to cancer and developed many of the same psychological issue he has because of it. I not only suffer from OCD but I often find myself so consumed with the fear of losing more people that I love that I can hardly enjoy having them in my life at all.

For me, this book was almost too real in David’s thoughts as many of my own. I felt often like a cold bucket of water was being thrown on me as I read. For this; I’m grateful.

Aside from that I found the plot itself a bit infantile. Of course, his dad still loves him even though he’s remarried with a new baby. I don’t need a whole epic journey to see that one coming.

 

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

