#98 Homemade Cream Soup Base

DSCF0183

3 Tablespoons Butter (Fleishmann’s Unsalted is Lactose Free)

3 Tablespoons flour

1/2 cup chicken broth – can use vegetable broth

1/2 cup milk (can use Lactaid, soy, rice or coconut)

Makes equivalent to 1 can.

DSCF0180

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat.

DSCF0181

Slowly, Stir in flour; keep stirring until smooth and bubbly.

DSCF0182

Remove from heat and add the chicken broth and milk, a little at a time, stirring to keep smooth. Return to heat. Bring sauce to a gentle boil; cook, stirring constantly, until it thickens. Taste and add salt and pepper, as needed to taste.

DSCF0183

 

Use in casseroles in place of condensed cream soups. This cream soup base can be varied by using vegetable broth, sauteéd chopped celery, celery seed, or sauteéd chopped mushrooms. Add herbs and or seasonings, as desired.

 

I’m lactose intolerant and have found replacements for sour cream, milk, cream cheese, ice cream and even shredded cheese (Kraft is lactose free) but cream of chicken soup, which I use often, I have always just had to endure. I’m not sure what even made me think to look but two days ago I decided to look around online to see if there might be an alternative for me. I found this same recipe over and over again on numerous websites.

I decided it was worth a try. I used it with one of our favorite meals so I knew what store bought tasted like in it and could compare it to my homemade version. I was very pleased. Neither of us could tell a difference. Finally! I’m thrilled with this little discovery. I just wish I would have done this at the beginning of my 100 recipes instead of the end. I’ll never buy it again.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

